Conservatives win bye-election

The Conservatives won the bye-election seat for Pembury, Sherwood and St James by 157 votes. The results were:

Ian Patrick Carvell        Labour Party                309

Hazel Frances Dawe    Green Party                 109

Christopher Hoare       UKIP                            1,000

David Neve                  Liberal Democrat          1, 022

James Tansley             Conservative                1,171

The turnout was 27.4 %.  James Tansley takes over the seat formerly occupied by Kevin Lynes, the popular County Councillor who died prematurely earlier this year.

UKIP, who had been anticipating a victory, ended up only third. The turnout was 27.4%.